There are all sorts of challenges to living in a new country.  The language barrier, the grocery store, streets not laid out on a grid system.  But all of these things pale in comparison to the visa process.  I know that the U.S. has one of the most ridiculous, difficult visa processes around, but that doesn’t stop me from whining about the Czech process.  Believe me, if it was up to me, both versions would be much simpler.

To get a Czech visa, you have to apply for it outside of the country, and you have to go somewhere with a Czech embassy.  That’s how I ended up in London, which I don’t mind at all.  Going to the embassy isn’t the awful part.  It’s just everything else.

I’m living in my apartment under a sub-lease contract, which means my roommate, the main tenant, has the actual lease contract.  To get a visa, you need proof of your accommodation for your entire stay in the Czech Republic.  Not a problem right?  If only.  Our lease only officially runs through the end of this December, and my roommate has not decided yet if she wants to renew it.  This was not brought to my attention until I mailed my lease contract (which is in Czech) to the embassy, and they informed me that I only have an apartment for the next three months.  Now, not only do I not know if I will have to find somewhere else to live in January, but I do not have the correct document for the embassy.

I don’t know what to do.  I don’t want to pressure her into signing a new contract, but I really, really need that document.  If I don’t get it, I don’t get a visa, and it’s that simple.  I don’t want to have to go through the process of finding a new apartment just so that I can get a new contract, but I’m worried I’m going to have to.  I like my apartment, and I like my neighborhood.  I don’t want to leave, but I don’t want to not have a visa more.

