HPIM2106The Czech Republic is not a country that caters to vegetarians.  Or, perhaps it would be better to say that it is a country intent on making its vegetarians fat, perhaps to shame them into eating meat.  At a traditional Czech restaurant, you will find two, maybe three non-meat items on the menu.  They are: fried cheese, fried mushrooms or cauliflower, and hermelin, which is something like camembert pickled with herbs.  I’m not complaining about this, really.  I love the fried cheese, or smažený sýr. It’s something I have to consciously tell myself not to order every time I go out to eat, because I’m fairly certain that not only would I be rather large, I’d also feel pretty sick.  Czech restaurants also regularly feature traditional entertainment, like these two gentlemen, playing Czech music.  The downside to this is that it gets so loud that you can’t have a conversation anymore.

The number of restaurants in Prague is really astounding.  Almost any nationality you can imagine is represented–last night, I HPIM2105had Indian food better than anything I’ve ever had at home, and the Vietnamese food is spectacular.  (There’s a large Vietnamese expat population.)  It’s so cheap to eat out here that it’s tempting to do it for every meal, and again, it’s something that I have to consciously force myself not to do.  As a result, though, I haven’t been cooking or baking as much as I usually do.  Part of this is because of my kitchen.  We have a minifridge.  For three people.  It’s seriously not bigger than what you would have in a dorm room.  Also, I can’t read the ingredients at the store.  However, I did figure out where the flour and yeast are, and I’ve been baking loaf after loaf of French bread.  And eating it all myself, which is a problem.  I want to make dessert soon, though, and it needs to be something that doesn’t involve brown sugar or very much vanilla, and something that doesn’t require a mixer.  I can mix a lot of things by hand, but meringue, for instance, is out.

Suggestions, anyone?

And, as a bonus, here is a picture of two serious European hipster mullets:HPIM2103

