I’d forgotten how long Sundays can feel when you don’t really know people wherever you are.  I have, luckily, already made some friends here, but found myself with no plans for today, despite a few halfhearted attempts to make contact.  It’s more of a restlessness than anything else–I’m not sad, just bored and wishing for company.  I know I’ve been bad at communicating with a lot of you (and this blog is a cheap way of alleviating some of that), but I appreciate so much everyone who has written back to me.  I promise, I’m going to be better about actually keeping in touch.

HPIM2087All of that aside, my friend Rosie (in an e-mail that I have yet to reply to…sorry!) pointed out that I haven’t really mentioned anything about my job.  Well, here goes.  The building I work in is around 500 years old, give or take, and is basically just a huge labyrinth.  I doubt that I’ll ever actually be able to find my way around it.  It’s very much like Prague itself, in that sense: I can find my way to my office, the kitchen, and the exit.  (Not even the main exit.  I only know how to get in and out through the back door.)

When I get to work, I usually have three or four e-mails that were sent at 3 am, asking me to have read and proofread them by an hour ago.  Most of what I do is proofreading e-mails–because the firm does a lot of international business, English is the common language, so it’s what they use most often.  After I’ve been in the office for about twenty minutes, I’ll get three to four more e-mails asking if I’ve read their original e-mails, and that I have to finish them RIGHT AWAY because they’re URGENT.   After this initial rush, I sit.  And I wait.  I read a book, I poke around on the internet, and I wait some more.  Then, someone sends me a 25 page document and says, “Can you have this done in an hour?”  Um, no.  No I can’t.  And so it goes for the rest of the day.  It’s not a bad job, though.  I can wear whatever I want, and I don’t really have a “boss.”  I can even work from home if I really want to, although I think I would be even less motivated if I ever tried that.

I actually don’t know what I’ll do if I ever have a job that requires me to wear dress clothes.  Everywhere I’ve worked–the publishing house, advertising agency, and law firm–has had no discernible dress code.  I would never go to work in jeans and a t-shirt, but I almost never wear jeans and a t-shirt, so that doesn’t really matter.

I don’t really have any stories about work yet.  No one has said or done anything particularly noteworthy, but I’m sure at some point I’ll have something to report.

HPIM2063In the meantime, here’s another picture of Aatu.

